Light at the End of the Tunnel

This weekend is a huge blur. As soon as we thought Diesel was better, he surprised us with something to make us think otherwise. We ended up taking him to the vet Sunday, where he was given barium to see what was going on inside of him. Today we got the final results and everything looks good! Crossing our fingers it stays that way. We’ve already spent over $1,100 on this whole issue. We need pet insurance.

Today he was so much more himself. His appetite is HUGE and he’s playing with his toys again. I was instructed to make him boiled chicken and steamed rice for his meals so I spent a good hour before preparing tons of food for him for the next several days!

As for my meals, they’ve been all over the place. Saturday night we went out for Jhon’s father’s birthday to a Colombian restaurant. I wasn’t sure what to get so I went with something simple, a taco salad.

dinner

It was very different from what I had expected. I ate about 3/4 of it. The flavor was very unique. I’m so used to my tacos that these tasted completely different.

Sunday morning Jhon and I were out of the house early to get the dog to the vet. It actually wasn’t that early (around 10am) but he was up again until 3am so it felt really early. We were too tired to make breakfast so I actually ended up having some sweets at my mom’s once we got there (horrible choice). We ended up picking up a slice of pizza near my parent’s house around noon.

dinner

I had a sorrento slice, which is fresh mozzarella and pesto topped with roasted red peppers, tomato, onion, and balsamic glaze! Sooo good!!!

Jhon headed off to work and I picked up the dog, brought him home, and did some homework.

For dinner we tried a new recipe:

dinner

Turkey bacon guacamole grilled cheese!! OH MY GOSH! This sandwich was out-of-this-world amazing! I made the guacamole from:

  • 1.5 ripe avocados
  • 1/2 lime juice
  • 1/2 roma tomato diced
  • 1 extra small onion
  • salt & pepper

That’s it! It came out super fresh and delicious! We used some white American cheese and cheddar and voila!

I also had plenty other snacks throughout the day.

Then Monday. I was supposed to work but we had a snow day. The roads are still horrendous. Our street is barely plowed. It takes forever to drive to even the most simple places.

Breakfast:

breakfast

Back to my normal breakfast: blood orange Chobani with 2/3 cup Trader Joe’s high fiber cereal. After this, Diesel went back to the vet where we got the good news!

Lunch was a pear and this:

froyo

My favorite. I will never say no to froyo. I brought my sister-in-law because she was awesome and came with me on a bunch of errands.

Jhon and I made a trip to Trader Joe’s earlier this evening before the roads got icy. It rained all morning so the roads are flooded with the melting snow and rain. As the temperature heads below freezing, it can’t be good. I was nervous to drive to my favorite Monday evening sculpting class so I decided we would cook something fun for dinner.

Insert pizza:

before

Before cooking…there’s a ton of hidden mushrooms under there!

after

After cooking!

Since I haven’t been eating as well as I can, I decided to make a side salad with my pizza. My plate:

dinner

I had a corner slice with a romaine side salad. I actually went back for a second slice because it was delicious! I also finished the last of my pink Relax Riesling.

Just got the news that tomorrow is another snow day. I could have guessed it because the road would be impossible for the busses to pass through.

Tomorrow’s plan includes a trip to the gym for some cardio, healthy eating, and more job searching/applications. I also have class for four hours. Hopefully my 30-minute commute to class isn’t horrendous!

I’m off to shower, relax, and read! I read so much in January and now I’m slacking. I think it’s probably because my book isn’t anything special. Gotta finish it though so I can move on to the next one!

Night!

2 thoughts on “Light at the End of the Tunnel

Leave a Reply

